The Simple Things

It has been a pretty uneventful Father’s Day, but to be honest, that is the way I prefer things.

After returning late from the beach last night, the whole family got up and went to church.

I got to talk to my dad and I will probably get to spend some time with him tomorrow. I’m blessed to have a dad that I can still talk to and see often.

I’ve got a 5 year old little girl that told me today, tomorrow, and the next day would be Father’s Day and that she would get me whatever I wanted (examples she gave: food, drink, remote). But then after that, she said I’m on my own again.

I’ve got a 3 year old little boy that acts like it is the first time he has ever seen me every time I walk into the house, and after giving me a giant hug, he announces to everybody else “daddy’s home.”

I’ve got a 1 year old little boy that seeks me out when he is tired because he knows I will stop whatever I am doing and bounce him until he (or we) falls asleep (this benefits both of us).

I’m blessed with a wonderful wife that is a great mommy to our kids.

We are surrounded by family that loves and cares for us as well as for our kids and we are reminded daily of that.

I’m blessed way more than I deserve, and the simple things are a daily reminder of that.

Happy Father’s Day to all the great dads in the world. I hope you had a blessed day.

20140615-214156-78116330.jpg

20140615-214156-78116251.jpg

Leave a comment