So here we go again…

So here we go (again on our own)…off into the unknown world of blogging.

We are on vacation.  Everyone else is napping.  I can’t sleep, so I thought to myself “Hey you, why not start a blog?”.  I’m not sure if anyone will ever follow this blog nor am I sure what to tell people to expect from this blog, as to be honest, I don’t even really know.  I am random.  Need proof?  I just out of nowhere decided to start a blog.  Need more proof?  I made a random tribute to Whitesnake in my opening line because that song pops into my head everytime I say “here I (or we) go”.  I actually started it last night and posted on a different site but have since decided to change to wordpress.  So my apologies if you are one of the three people that read it over there, but for now on this will be my blog.

At 34 years old, I pretty much answer to two different names:  “Dad” and “Coach”.  That is about what everyone that I come into contact with on a daily basis calls me (to my face anyway).  My wife doesn’t call me that, but my pet name is pretty random and somewhat embarrassing, so we will just stick with Dad and Coach for now.

Anyway, I outkicked my coverage.  My wife is way better than I deserve.  And the three kids that the good Lord has blessed us with?  I can’t even start to describe what they have brought into our lives.  They are ages 1, 3, and 5.  So yes, things are crazy around here.   But it is a pretty awesome kind of crazy.  There are times when it all feels like too much…but at the end of the day, after fighting them to finally fall asleep, I sit back and realize all the ways that my family has blessed me.  We aren’t even close to perfect, but I wouldn’t trade it for anything (pretty cliche, huh?).

As if 3 kids at home doesn’t make life crazy enough, my chosen profession is to work with more kids….the middle and high school kind.  This may make me certifiable, but again, it is awesome.  I teach 8th/9th grade and coach middle school football and varsity girls soccer.  So I leave my craziness at home just to walk into the drama of middle school kids and then once I leave there, I walk into the drama of jock middle school kids during the fall and then the drama of HS girls in the spring.  But again, I love the craziness.

Teaching and coaching are a passion.  I love working with kids.  I love the excitement when they finally see that history really isn’t all that bad.  I love the celebration after that 8th grader scores his first (and possibly only) touchdown.  I love the emotion of watching a team that I have seen grow from infancy win their first area championship.

So yes, I am crazy.  But I love the craziness.  And I am also a rambler as you can tell from this blog (or you could simply ask any of my students or athletes about my ramblings).  I guess this blog is a first step.  To what?  I really don’t know.  It may be the first step to me blogging to myself.  Or maybe I will get lucky and have a few folks find some comic relief in the stories I am planning to tell.  I’ll probably even get a hard time from some about having a blog, but that stuff really doesn’t bother me.  The good Lord has blessed me by surrounding me with so many great personalities and wonderful people so that I usually don’t let a little negativity bring me down.  My life is too hectic and crazy to worry too much about those types of things.

I love it.  And you are welcome to come along for the ride.

Leave a Reply

